IndyGamers Online Forums

Online Community


Register

Reply

  #16  
Old November 14th, 2010, 12:42 AM
SpectruM's Avatar
SpectruM SpectruM is offline
[iG] Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Terre Haute
Posts: 734
Default

I had no sound in game, only the trailors. I googled it and searched about 20 different sites/fixes. None worked, but I figured it out finally.

In case anyone else has the problem. Locate the folder first of all. Mine was c:\program files(86)\activision\black ops. In that folder, open the redist folder, in that should be a Direct X folder, open it. Find the DXSETUP and run it.

I also read a suggested fix for the freeze problem which made you open the config and set windowed mode from 0 to 1 to run it in windowed mode, which seemed to help some people.
__________________
Pictures of my 92 Mustang
Car 1 Car 2 Car 3
Car 4 Car 5 Car 6

M4A79XTD EVO Mobo | AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz | G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 | XFX Radeon HD 5770 (Juniper XT) 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 | WD Caviar Black 750gb 32mb buffer | Zalman 9700 CPU cooler | Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit | LIAN LI Lancool PC-K62 Black | OCZ Modxstream-Pro 700watt modular psu
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old November 14th, 2010, 04:50 PM
Hou$ton's Avatar
Hou$ton Hou$ton is offline
[iG] Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,189
Default

man i dunno why everyones having so many problems, the game is running perfectly smooth for me

thanks for the heads up on the sound issue though - who knows if it'll end up happening to me down the line
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred
Intel Core i7 920 OC @ 3.80ghz with Coolermaster V8
Gigabyte x58a-UD3R
Radeon HD 6870
12GB DDR3 1333
60GB Corsair SSD Boot Drive


Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old November 15th, 2010, 08:04 AM
YETB YETB is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indy
Posts: 51
Default

Re: Sound - also have to be aware that the game engine is specifically listing every device your {Realtek or whatever} device lists.

So if you you select headphone as your output - but in your sound devices you have it listed as speakers - NO SOUND. Keep poking around - eventually you will find your set up.

The custom classes are there - you have to unlock the ability to use them - comes quick though - maybe level 5 -6

Game play has been improved already - but 1 guy pinging 200 in a server will kill the play for everyone.

We LANned with it all day Saturday - and rented a private server spot to use - we had 10 playing off my brighthouse cable - and had NO issues. All ping'd at about 60.

What I did end up doing - was banning everyone that joined that was lagging (pinging higher than 150) - and that kept things running smooth.

Sucks that renting a Ranked server - means you can't set max ping, or password - but having the ability to build and ENORMOUS ban list works for me....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old November 15th, 2010, 08:37 AM
Hardcore's Avatar
Hardcore Hardcore is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 932
Default

i deleted my config file and it seems to run a lot better. go figure
__________________
Gigabyte X58-UD5 // i7 920 3.8 1.3V // 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600 // SLI GTX 480 800/1600/2000 // Intel X25-M 160 // 3x Acer GD235HZ
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old November 15th, 2010, 08:56 PM
SpectruM's Avatar
SpectruM SpectruM is offline
[iG] Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Terre Haute
Posts: 734
Default

The sound bug did not let you select your hardware device for sound, it was grayed out. What I posted above is the fix.

http://www.blackopsforum.com/showthread.php?t=7019 is a a forum discussion on modifications you can make to the config to fix the freeze issue. If what hardcore said, simply deleting the config works, that's much easier.
__________________
Pictures of my 92 Mustang
Car 1 Car 2 Car 3
Car 4 Car 5 Car 6

M4A79XTD EVO Mobo | AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz | G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 | XFX Radeon HD 5770 (Juniper XT) 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 | WD Caviar Black 750gb 32mb buffer | Zalman 9700 CPU cooler | Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit | LIAN LI Lancool PC-K62 Black | OCZ Modxstream-Pro 700watt modular psu
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old November 16th, 2010, 08:33 PM
SpectruM's Avatar
SpectruM SpectruM is offline
[iG] Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Terre Haute
Posts: 734
Default

My brother bought it, so I can finally play multi-player. What server are you guys playing on, anything specific?
__________________
Pictures of my 92 Mustang
Car 1 Car 2 Car 3
Car 4 Car 5 Car 6

M4A79XTD EVO Mobo | AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz | G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 | XFX Radeon HD 5770 (Juniper XT) 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 | WD Caviar Black 750gb 32mb buffer | Zalman 9700 CPU cooler | Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit | LIAN LI Lancool PC-K62 Black | OCZ Modxstream-Pro 700watt modular psu
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old November 20th, 2010, 05:46 PM
mykr0's Avatar
mykr0 mykr0 is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 1,319
Default

I bought it for the 360 and I think its pretty damned good. The campaign has a good storyline so far.
__________________
\\ http://soundcloud.com/mykroproductions \\

Coolermaster Elite 330 Case
Antec Smartpower 2.0 500W PS
GIGABYTE GA-965GM-S2 Motherboard
E6600 w/ Zalman CNPS7700-Cu LED Heatsink
OCZ 2x1gb DDR2-800 Ram
EVGA 7900GTX 512mb
Samsung SHS182MBEBN DVD Burner
Western Digital 36gb RAPTOR
Western Digital 250gb
Seagate 500gb Barracuda
Envision 22" Widescreen LCD

Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old December 26th, 2010, 11:16 PM
s1lver's Avatar
s1lver s1lver is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 1,044
Default

my roomie got it for me for xmas. no it's not my parents. after i select campaign and the intro it black screens but still shows it running in the task manager
__________________
black x2: Athlon 64 x2 4800+ | DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR | Kingston HyperX 3200AK2 4x1gb | Geforce 9600 GT 256mb | 2x Seagate 500GB raid, 2x Maxtor 120GB, Maxtor 160GB, WD 250GB | LiteON 16x DVD-+ RW | Antec Trio 650w | Windows 7



use the "EDIT" button ---------------------------------------------------------------------->
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old December 27th, 2010, 03:19 AM
specter's Avatar
specter specter is offline
[iG] Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 2,504
Default

let steam install it
__________________
[flash=450,100]http://3l3373.com/fla/cod6_countdown.swf[/flash]
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old December 27th, 2010, 07:18 PM
s1lver's Avatar
s1lver s1lver is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 1,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by specter View Post
let steam install it
got it to work. now i've got crazy mouse lag. going to reboot.
__________________
black x2: Athlon 64 x2 4800+ | DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR | Kingston HyperX 3200AK2 4x1gb | Geforce 9600 GT 256mb | 2x Seagate 500GB raid, 2x Maxtor 120GB, Maxtor 160GB, WD 250GB | LiteON 16x DVD-+ RW | Antec Trio 650w | Windows 7



use the "EDIT" button ---------------------------------------------------------------------->
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old December 28th, 2010, 11:58 AM
s1lver's Avatar
s1lver s1lver is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 1,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s1lver View Post
got it to work. now i've got crazy mouse lag. going to reboot.
swapped to a 9600 gt. forgot to plug in the power to gfx card. now it's working.
__________________
black x2: Athlon 64 x2 4800+ | DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR | Kingston HyperX 3200AK2 4x1gb | Geforce 9600 GT 256mb | 2x Seagate 500GB raid, 2x Maxtor 120GB, Maxtor 160GB, WD 250GB | LiteON 16x DVD-+ RW | Antec Trio 650w | Windows 7



use the "EDIT" button ---------------------------------------------------------------------->
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:07 AM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Forum skin by ForumMonkeys.